My Little Miracle

The exciting story of God's very special gift to Mama & Papa…

The Third Trimester

on March 12, 2021

I am looking at the calendar as I write this, to remember when was my third trimester because time seem to just fly by these days! So my third trimester started on December 8th – 28 weeks pregnant. I know I had said this many times – but OMG, I really cannot remember much until I look at photos to see the events and occasions that happened during that period of time. Having said that, I would say that I did enjoy my third trimester, despite the final month being so hard. I enjoyed that I get to rub my belly as it was definitely visible at this time and enjoy prepping for the little one. If you noticed, it is in part tense, which means BABY IS ALREADY HERE as I am sitting down writing tonight. Baby is now 2 weeks old, and I am finding it hard to find time to really have the mood to write. Here I am, telling myself that I need to pen these down because I know my future self will thank me for it. I know you’re excited, but the birth story will be updated soon, I promise! And it’s gonna be a juicy one too!

Back on topic. If I had to chose between the trimesters, I’d rather go through the hardships of the third trimester than the first. If you hadn’t read about my first trimester experience, you can read it here. The first was far worse and I would never want to relive those sick days – AT ALL. I do not actually have much journaled in my notes on the third trimester except towards the end where I experienced a lot of discomfort. So I guess it was a great trimester and I will just share pictures as I go along growing this baby. Lots and lots of pictures!

I only remember making A LOT of soap during this season because of the huge Christmas release that I had, and then later on experimenting and perfecting the Bubble Bars in January. Perhaps I was kept busy with soaping, everything went by quickly.

8th December 2020

Even our pets wanted to be part of it!

This is how we “celebrate” entering the third trimester. I saw a photo on Instagram and wanted to remake it. I didn’t like how I looked but oh well – it is what it is! All in all, I had learnt to accept and respect my body more (as compared to my previous pregnancies) and I have a lifetime to lose it all later on.

12th December 2020

We celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary on the 11th and the Hongs took us out for dinner at Lala Chong. Oh how we love our Connect family! It felt just that day we were enjoying crabs but it has been almost 3 months ago already.

24th-26th December 2020

It is Christmas time and we spent them with our loved ones. This year was so different because of the pandemic, but I am grateful to be able to host dinner for my family and also cook up a storm in the kitchen. The kids would be the ones who enjoyed the most, decorating gingerbread men and opening presents. By the end of the new year, I remember feeling so exhausted that my feet would hurt when I lay down at night, due to standing the whole day. Top right – my view of the kids hugging baby #3.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Prenatal appointments now are bi-weekly and a belly shot at the clinic is a must. Met up with my business partners just a couple of days before the new year and Evie took this shot of me just before I left.

3rd January 2021

We went downtown to have dinner and walked Pavilion for a bit. Almost 32 weeks here but it felt like just yesterday. I know, I need to stop saying how time flies, but I cant help it as I write this. It is too scarily fast because I remember every detail on that day to Pavilion.

15th January 2021

The weather was so hot and I was finally convinced to go into the pool with the kids. I had bought this swimsuit sometime in July, when I was in early pregnancy, but it didn’t fit when we went to Perhentian in September (you can read about my second trimester here) and suddenly it fits great at 34 weeks! I only wore this twice! Bubble baths are fun. I am so glad to be able to make such a product line for my home based business despite being so heavily pregnant!

29th-31st January 2021

As you can see from this pic, the pregnancy was starting to take a toll on my body. I couldn’t sleep well at night, aches and pains all over, and stabbing jabs on my cervix started really frequently. I had to sit cross legged on the bed and change positions very often in order to relieve some of the discomfort. I experienced some painful contractions on the 29th too. It did not last long but the pressure down low was real. I had some freelance work that came in from theAsianParent so I accepted the job to keep myself busy and working off the discomforts of the home run.

February 2021

This month started off with super painful jabs on my cervix. I cant really describe this feeling but it is internal. It feels like something is pressing on your lady parts and rip you open. It feels like someone punching your insides (the baby’s head engaged) and you need to pause and hold your VJJ for abit. TMI, but that is how I’d explain it.

Daddy went to work on the 2nd and I had a huge soap order to ship. At this stage, I find it difficult to carry stuff and walk far but I had to do it anyway. Carried 2 huge boxes to ship, worked on the freelance job, packed orders, picked Evie from school, and arranged the breast pump to be serviced. I feel like a super mama on this day!

7th Feb 2021

I had an unfortunate incident with J&T Express where they lost my biggest parcel worth RM700+ of Bubble Bars. Honestly, I was very upset but I also needed to reimburse the customer. Business is business despite how I was feeling. So I spent the day remaking those orders and sent them out the next day. I remember my back was aching so badly from standing and then bending over to do the soap dishes. Once I was done, it felt so good to stretch and lie down for a bit.

11th-13th February 2021

CNY season is here. I went for a hair cut on CNY eve once the salons were allowed to open and very glad I did so. I had a trim and wash and it felt so good after a long time. My last salon visit was October 2020. It definitely felt refreshing after that needed haircut before I pop. In the evening, we had our CNY eve dinner with the Loy family and I felt so happy and blessed that we could all meet together. We had no photos on this day but it was a memorable one with great conversations and fun. The next 2 days, I decided to cook for the Lims family lunch and also dinner with some of our Connect family. It seems crazy to cook up a storm in late pregnancy, but I have to say I enjoyed it. It kept me busy although it was VERY tiring. I rested 2 days after that busy weekend. Braxton Hicks contractions visited me a few times a day and I was using the toilet many times too. My belly was getting so huge so fast in this last month and one of the signs of early labour is your body releasing all the waste by going to the bathroom ever so often. I was convinced the baby is about to come very soon.

As I kept on waiting, the next week, new stretch marks started to appear. I did not have any extra (except from previous pregnancies) but suddenly by week 38, more and more started to “extend” from the old one. They weren’t painful or itchy but it looked like a wound. I was so happy for not having any extras thus far, but my joy was short lived. However, I am glad that we took the maternity shots before these marks appear.

One thing I had also noticed in this pregnancy which I did not experience in my other pregnancies was my belly button! I have a pretty deep belly button and it doesn’t “POP OUT” like some people. But this time, it didn’t really pop out but it started to protrude at the top. Weird, but so obvious. So this one was new and the kids would always ask what was happening to my belly button!

I am going to stop here as my next update is close to Labour/Birth Day already. With all the aches and pains of the home run, I felt very empowered that I managed to get a lot of things done before I pop. We manage to set up the cot, cleaned the house, cook up a storm, shipped tons of soap orders etc. These memories seem to fade away as I now hold my newborn in my arms. I can’t wait to share more with you especially my birth story. Stay tuned for the next blog update!


Leave a comment