My Little Miracle

The exciting story of God's very special gift to Mama & Papa…

When is my due date???

on January 21, 2016

It is every pregnant moms wish to know when is her exact due date; even though it is just an estimate, having the peace to know that everyone is on the same page (and everyone means the doctor, the nurse, yourself, the ultrasound tech, etc) will really put an ease to your mind.

Well, according to BabyCentre AND every single pregnancy due date calculator online, my due date for QB2 is on Feb 10th, 2016. How accurate are online calculators? Well, I used it with Leo and my doctor then revealed the same date too, so I believe they are correct. But this time, my midwife said that it is on Feb 13th, 2016 and not the 1oth, based on her manual calculation which they add 7 days to your LMP (last menstrual period). I’ve always sidetracked her calculation coz I felt it wasn’t accurate and preferred to stick to Feb 10th. I had my final ultrasound with a gynae on Tuesday and I asked him about my due date; again. According to his calculation, he said it was Feb 13th! I was shocked. Not because I didn’t believe him but because every single calculator says 10th according to my LMP, but his and the midwifes’ says 13th. He also said that it is only a difference by 3 days, so it doesn’t really matter. True but NOT TRUE. If you’ve been pregnant, you KNOW that the last month of pregnancy has 365 days! I wouldn’t want to be overdue either, and every single day counts when you’re in the home run.

Pregnant-Meme-Last-Month-of-Pregnancy

If you’ve been in the TTC (trying to conceive) moment and you are the kinda mom that knows your cycle very well and know about fertility and conception, you will know that there are other methods to determine your due date.

  1. Using your LMP – which most doctors use and what the online calculator uses too. But I don’t know why the manual calculation and generic calculator differs by 3 days? So according to this calculation, my due date is on the 13th.
  2. Date of conception – We all know what we need to do to conceive. And I know the exact date, because we only tried once. They can argue and say that this method is not the best because sperm can live in the uterus for a couple of days and you never know when you ovulate. But my cycle is very regular and I know when I am in the fertile window. So since we only tried ONCE, I keyed in the date of conception and that had put my due date to the 7th! Now that’s a huge difference between 7th and 13th. That is 1 week ahead of what the LMP says.

In case you’re wondering why am I so anal about my due date; it is an estimate anyway. It is because I was overdue with Leo and had to be induced. That wasn’t fun at all. And at the end of pregnancy, baby is growing bigger and bigger each day. If baby gets too big, there are chances that they may now allow you to birth naturally and/or say that there are risks involved. I had to be induced with Leo because my water broke and I was overdue.

overdue

I am only hoping that I will not go overdue this time. I don’t want to be induced and I don’t want baby to get too big, as she measures 2.7kg already. Each week they gain about 300 grams. So the remaining 3 weeks I have left means she could put on 1kg. That would mean she could be born at 3.7kgs! That’s gonna hurt… and no C section for me please! I know these are estimate figures, plus minus 10%, but still, my heart just feels kinda unsettled.

God's-perfect-time

Anyway, I just wanted to get this out of my chest. Ultimately, God’s timing is best. He knows when she will be here and she will be here when she’s ready. The only thing I can do now is to prepare my body for labor and trust that it till complete the whole process. If my body can conceive and sustain the whole pregnancy till full term, my body can birth this baby out naturally and the process will be complete. It will not fail me and it will not go haywire suddenly.

pregnant

Leave a Reply

