My Little Miracle

The exciting story of God's very special gift to Mama & Papa…

Servicing my Spectra M1 breast pump

on December 4, 2015

I have a couple of things listed on my to-do list before QB2 arrives but one of the most important one was to service my breast pump. Regardless weather you direct latch all the time or you bottle feed, you will use a breast pump in some way; at least for me.

I am that mama who overproduces milk. Now now… don’t say I’m lucky, because when you over produce, it is just as hard as under producing. The strong let down, the baby choking on your milk, the milk that sprays everywhere; let’s just not get there. So knowing my past experience, I know that I will definitely be using my Spectra M1 and I need it to be in tip top condition.

I love my Spectra M1 breast pump, and if you haven’t read my review and comparison with the Medela Freestyle, you can read it here. This was posted back in February 2014 when I first purchased it to use, and when QB was 6 months old, and I was exclusively breastfeeding.

2014-01-24 18.13.19

p/s: Please note that I am in no way sponsored by Spectra Baby Malaysia or have any business ties with them. I purchased everything by myself and all my reviews and opinions remain my own.

I used the pump until November 2014, when QB decided to wean himself. So I had used the pump for 9 months consecutively, 2 times a day. I never serviced it ever, in that time frame. And I haven’t had any major issues besides changing the valve a couple of times. The valve is one of the most sensitive part of the pump as any slight tears or deformity will affect your pumping session and yield. Trust me, I couldn’t even see the tear and when the sales person challenged me to change it, my yield went back to normal. It is common that this will happen because when we wash the valve, we could have accidentally pushed it too hard. Don’t worry, the valve cost RM14 per piece and it wont burn a hole in your pocket!(remember that my review is also comparing quality and value for money).

VALVE-WHITE_l-horz

Another little issue that I had was that the battery did not last as long as before. It would be fully charged and then will only last about 30 minutes before dying. Other than these 2 minor set backs, the Spectra M1 was awesome.

Since I stopped pumping, I kept my pump back into the box,  and cleaned all the parts well before storing them for the next use. Little did I know that I am so excited to use it again in about 2 months time. I sent my pump to Histopoint at SS18 last week for servicing. When the guy tested my pump, he said it was working just fine. At the highest suction level (level 5) the pressure went to about 300. I was amazed and very happy that the pump is still performing so well, despite being in storage for 1 year! However, he mentioned that the suction could be even better after a general service. I also mentioned about the battery issue that I had so he said the technician will take a look.

2 days ago, I got a call from them telling me that they need to replace the pump battery for me as the battery was weak; hence the problem that I had (which I think happened because I dropped it a couple of times during that 9 months of usage). She also suggested me to replace the pump motor as well. I was a tad bit disappointed to hear that because initially the guy tested and said it was still ok. The reason was she said the suction may not be as good (after using it for awhile) and I can chose to replace it later, but that will mean I have to go back there all the way from KL to Subang) and wait a week before I get my pump back. I did not want to risk it, so agreed to go ahead with the replacements.

I was mentally preparing myself to pay a lot for the replacement of parts. When I serviced the Medela Freestyle that I used, it costs me RM300! I was beyond shocked and I also replaced the connectors for RM129. Well, what do you expect from a pump that costs almost RM2000? Or maybe even more now. I asked her about the price to replace my Spectra M1 parts and I was happy to hear that the battery was RM50 and the motor was RM90. I am so thankful that the total price came up to less than RM200 and not too high that I would rather buy a new pump altogether! I paid a total of RM170 including the service fee and collected it yesterday. The guy tested it again and the highest suction went up too 350.

I got to take back the old parts too. Just for fun 🙂

12348519_10153356927772998_135561938_n

They also told me that they have a 6 month warranty for the new motor, starting from the day that QB2 will be born. I asked again to make sure it was legit because I would be deeply upset if they told me it was not and if something really happened to my pump. All I have to do is to bring baby’s birth cert/MyKid and then get it fixed under warranty.

I am very happy with the service provided by Spectra Baby Malaysia so far and I hope that many mamas will experience the same too. Even though I’ve heard some not so good stories about their service, I did not experience the same. My experience was pleasant and the people I spoke to was helpful and informative.

images

My Spectra M1 is really value for money. I only serviced it once and I believe I will not have to service it again maybe until baby #3, and after storing it for another year or so (if we will have QB3…). I can’t wait to use the pump again and then have another review on longevity and pump performance.

Are you a Spectra user? How is your experience so far?

 

 

Leave a Reply

