My Little Miracle

The exciting story of God's very special gift to Mama & Papa…

38 weeks and 4 days…

on July 20, 2013

WOW! I am actually 38 weeks+ pregnant! And that means that baby can come anytime now. I am so thankful that he has reached full term and I know how important it is for that and everyday counts when he is in the womb. Protected, nourished, warm and growing!

However, honestly… I am feeling very tired and I really can’t wait to meet him. The past few days I was feeling really emotional. I cannot explain how it feels like. It’s like I KNOW I am emotional, I KNOW that I am complaining or fussing over small issues. I KNOW that I am over reacting… I KNOW… but yet, I can’t help it! I feel like I need to let it out.

Rant-Alert

At our 38 week check up, everything seems to be well but some things that the doc said made me anxious and I really do not want to feel stressed or worried. He said that my blood pressure was marginal. From the start of pregnancy, my BP was consistent and stable. Pretty good I’d say. Thanks to the workout that I kept doing and teaching classes. However, I stopped teaching by the end of June because I was feeling very tired and heavy. Sometimes my back and feet would hurt. Maybe because I stopped teaching, my BP went higher?

Also, during the scan he found calcium in the placenta. Not a good or bad thing, but preferably not be there. It is a sign that the placenta is ageing… that got me worried! I Googled it and found out that a little calcification is ok and it means that labour is near. Time for placenta to finish its job. According to what I’ve read, it would not harm the baby and will still provide sufficient nutrients to him. So because if this 2 concerns, I will see doc again at 39 weeks. I am really hoping though, that he will be born before the 39th week check up…

Feelings this week: I am in pain. I feel pressure and pain in my “hooha” a lot. It feels like a knife is stabbing me. Ok… not so dramatic, but it feels like sharp pain and I just need to stop for a second and take a deep breath! I have pain in my back too. No matter how I try to stretch, it does not go away! My legs feel numb every now and then. Numb as in… NUMB. Sudden loss of feelings in my legs. At first it was only once a while, but now it happens several times a day. Baby movements hurt. At the beginning of pregnancy, no it doesn’t hurt. But I guess now due to less “space” in me, every big movement makes me feel like I’m about to explode! I can literally feel his knees/feet poke me and his head down under, pressing my bladder and just pushing down towards my “hooha”. Don’t misunderstand that all these are bad. It is not. I love knowing that he moves, but it’s just getting more and more intense.

Maternity - pregnant woman holding her belly. VECTOR

I know for sure he will be in our arms sooner or later. But waiting is getting harder and harder too. I’ve found out that a friend of mine had already given birth 2 days ago at 37 weeks and her due date was supposed to be 1 week after mine. Yes, due dates just estimates but still… knowing that I am the last person to deliver makes me feel so left out 😦 I had known at least 8 women who have had their babies already!!! Looking through their pictures and hearing their stories makes me feel so excited! And I wonder… when will little Leo make his appearance so I’d have a story to tell?

Next week I would be off work officially. I wanted to spend some time at home and just resting and not stressing about work. Thankfully I have friends who are helping me with work and allowing me to take time off. I am looking forward to longer sleeping hours and washing sheets, spending time with Chon and Milo (our 2 dogs) and just being at home, calm and focused.

Today, I spent all day with Terence and made dinner together too 🙂 I love doing things together and it makes me feel safe and secure having him around. I know being pregnant, I have thrown many fits around him, nagging constantly and just being a pain. I assured him that I will not be like this forever and it’s really the hormones taking a toll on me! I hope that after delivery I can be myself again, even better. Loving my husband, cherishing every minute spent together and practicing unconditional love. I know FOR SURE, he will be a great dad…

cxz4

Dear Leonidas,
We are waiting for your arrival and we can’t wait to meet you! Mama want to hear your first cry, hold you in my arms, snuggle you, see you smile and look into your eyes. I know you will come when it’s time and God has already decided that for you. In the meantime, I love feeling you move and squirm in my womb. It makes me feel happy and thrilled that you are living inside me and only Mama can experience it! I know for sure I will miss that feeling once you’re out. So every minute now, I shall cherish your movements and I will love you and wait for you.

May God’s favour be upon you and may He continually bless you with good health and growth.

pregnant-belly2

Leave a Reply

